Movies that make me cry, part 1

I’m a very emotional person. It’s taken me a while to realize this because I’m loath to acknowledge characteristics about myself that conform to certain stereotypes. Being loud, opinionated, sensitive, and emotional (all things that I am on occasion) tend to be stereotypical traits of black women or women in general.

But  I am very emotional. I can’t help it. I cry frequently and randomly as hell. Movies often trigger the waterworks even when they’re not supposed to. Certain music makes me cry and certain, random people that I see. Something in their face makes my tear ducts start working overtime.

The last movie that made me sob was Toy Story 3. I know, I know, say what you will. I can’t even explain it, but I was literally bawling when that movie was over. People were staring at me as I walked out the theatre with tears flooding down my cheeks.

“What’s wrong with you?” one girl (who never ever cries) snapped with irritation. “It’s just, it’s just–” I started crying even more because I couldn’t articulate why that last scene with Andy and the little girl playing with Woody and Buzz Lightyear made me so distraught.

Yesterday I cried at the end of a movie*. No sobbing this time, just some temporary blurry vision as my eyes filled up. It wasn’t even the movie itself that made me cry; it was the caption at the end: “John called Mimi when he got to Hamburg and called her every week afterwards for the rest of his life. ”  The film, a beautifully photographed biopic about John Lennon’s adolescence was good, but it wasn’t sob-worthy good. Yet something about that sentence, especially because it was true, got to me. (I may or may not be tearing up as I type this. )

Dare I document the films I watch this summer that make me cry?

*Nowhere Boy’s the name of the film. It’s pretty good. The main actor, Aaron Johnson, gives a great performance and it’s always a treat to see Kristin Scott Thomas onscreen.

3 Comments on “Movies that make me cry, part 1”

  1. Liz says:

    guuuurl, I cry too. I hate it. Toy Story 3…I didn’t bawl but tears were coming down my face even as I was laughing b/c I thought it was ridiculous that I was crying. Trust me, I feel your pain. Sad movies (even the stupid sad ones such as ummm Deep Impact. WTF), really joyous moments, violins being all forlorn, other people crying (church is such a problem) etc etc. I cried on “Australia” partly because I was so angry at it (“I’m over it. I’m so over it” I kept repeating).

    Oh, and most recently, “Tree of Life.” That one I have trouble figuring out why I get teared up. I think the whole thing is just too much emotion for me. Lol.

    • tometome says:

      How was Tree of Life? I’ve been debating whether I should actually watch it.

      • Liz says:

        It was good. It’s deep. Very different kind of movie, so be expecting that. It is a movie where most people will hate it or love it. But it tackles some big themes in a beautiful way and leaves you thinking. It also leaves me anxious and teary but so far I’ve been the only one. Lol If you have any interest in seeing it I would see it on the big screen. More awe inspiring.


Leave a Reply

