And Betty Draper is thrown onto the cutting board…

I felt guilty for using images without formal permission so, because I am a poor, obscure college student, I must make do with the kind-hearted amateur photographers who take random photos like this one to accompany blog posts that have nothing to do with their photos. All credit goes to my main man, Carlos Porto

As if this past season of Mad Men didn’t have enough drama, a showdown between Matthew Weiner, executive producer/creator of the show and AMC has been broiling for weeks. Basically Mad Men isn’t making the moo-lah AMC expects from its Emmy-award winning program.You see in the illogical world we live in, reality shows like Keeping Up with the Kardashians are more likely to win the ratings race than staid, old Mad Men. The coveted 18-49 year old demographic just ain’t too keen on watching a show set when their grandparents were young.

Although there will be a fifth season of Mad Men, it’s going to air in early 2012. Which basically means that during that late summer lull, when all the other college kids are already in school and I’m sitting at home bored out of my mind, I will no longer have Sunday evenings to look forward to.

To make matters worse, AMC is demanding that Weiner make cuts, insisting that he eliminate two full-time cast members and cut two minutes from every episode.  Weiner responded in a characteristically Wellesian manner: “All I want to do is continue to make my show, and make it in the way I want to, with the people I want to make it with.”

DAMN STRAIGHT, Weiner. Don’t take that $30 million dollar paycheck Lionsgate is offering you.  You do you!

I don’t know if that was sarcastic or not. I’m tired.

Oh, and everyone says if Weiner has to cut someone, Betty should go.

Leave a Reply

