Feast!

As you have probably already figured out by now, my musical tastes are dated and random. Really, really random. So, yes, I know Laura Marling is well-established on the indie folk scene and this song is sooo 2007, but I’m obsessed with it–I love the guitar and her voice–beautiful, distinct, laden with a maturity…[other nice-sounding, vague descriptions]. I also really pay attention to her lyrics, which is rare for me.

I almost never pay attention to lyrics (that Sufjan Steven’s “To Be Alone with You” was about Jesus didn’t register until the 1000th time I listened to the song one insomnia-racked night and then suddenly, “Oh… that makes sense.”) It’s a habit–this not listening to lyrics thing–one I should be more concerned about, but alas.

Of course, when the genre of music demands that I listen to the lyrics, I do, (though, again, it was the use of Lauryn Hill’s catchy hook from “Mystery of Iniquity” on Kanye West’s “All Falls Down” that first attracted me to West’s song.) Appreciation for the cleverness of the lyrics came later, and that was the proverbial cherry on top.

But anyway, enough of me blabbering. Enjoy!

One Comment on “Feast!”

  1. […] details.  An “ice blue bong,” a Muslim taxi driver.  As I’ve said before,  music trumps lyrics every time (it’s how I can love India.Arie’s “Complicated Melody” even though the […]


Leave a Reply

